Blueberry Ketchup

blueberry-834623_1280

Image via Pixabay

It’s summertime-hot, sticky summertime-and blueberries are on sale.

Some of my fondest summer memories have included those plump, velvety berries. I remember hiking along a mountain trail as a young child and stumbling across a patch of wild blueberries. I stuffed my little jacket pockets full, anticipating the pie my mother would make when we got home. The berries did not make it back intact.

I can still smell the blueberry buckle my mom used to make. Crisp, buttery, and filled with juicy berries, it was one of my favorite breakfasts. And I loved it when she read Blueberries for Sal, the berries “plink, plink, plink”-ing in her bucket.

I found myself buying three pounds of blueberries at the store this weekend, most of them earmarked for my family’s favorite blueberry zucchini bread. It freezes beautifully! But what to do with the rest (besides eat them, of course)?

Blueberry ketchup.

I know, it sounds strange, but trust me and try it. It’s sweet and savory, and oh so good with sweet potato fries. Even my kids gobbled it up! If you try it, let me know what you think.

This summer is a little sweeter and a whole lot stickier with all the blueberry ketchup-stained faces in my house. Sweet summertime memories.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

