Found Friday: Egyptian Edition

I love all things Egyptian, with specific regards to ancient Egypt. The notion of dusty mummies and hieroglyphs may not be romantic to you, but I can’t get enough. I even own a copy of The Egyptian Book of the Dead. One of my favorite movies is The Mummy with Brendan Fraser and Rachel Weisz. Yes, I realize that movie is not accurate, but a librarian exploring Egypt, raising the dead, and reading while doing it certainly captures the imagination. I hate that they are remaking it, and with Tom Cruise no less.

The found object in today’s post is a postcard. I had to censor it slightly, as it depicts a woman brewing and filtering beer, and some might consider her topless. PhotoGrid_1465090948309

I found the postcard in the book on the left. The back of the postcard reads, “Egyptian Museum-Cairo.” The tray you see in the picture on the right I acquired from an antique shop in Arkansas.

Do you have a fascination with a certain time or place in history? Let me know in the comments or on my Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

