Why Now?

 

I’ve wanted to start a blog for a while now. So, why start now? Well, I’ve been participating in a fun and challenging contest on Instagram hosted by Slap Nutrition called “Slap 90 Days.” If you want to participate, it ends May 1st, so hop to it! The rules are posted here. In my personal experience (not sponsored or being compensated in any way!), Slap Nutrition has the cleanest, best tasting supplements; try the strawberry protein powder, the salted caramel BCAA’s, or Slapuccino pre-workout. Or everything. It’s all delicious.

As part of the contest, we were asked to post goals-physical, mental, etc,-that challenged us to be a better person. I chose two physical and two mental goals. Physical: Lose 15 pounds, and walk 10,000 steps a day. Mental: Write 1,500 words a day, and read two books a week. Lofty goals, to be sure. Did I crush those goals? Not exactly.

I lost ten pounds. My fitbit started irritating my skin, so I didn’t log all my steps. I wrote quite a bit, but didn’t always hit 1,500 words. I read at least one book a week. I had great days where I ate clean, worked hard, and connected with some awesome people, and not so great days, like when I broke a tooth and ugly cried in front of the receptionist at the walk-in clinic. Now we are in the process of moving to a new house. Life happens!

Even though I “only” lost ten pounds, it wasn’t easy. I got up before five am most mornings and ran around in the basement like a crazy person because I couldn’t get to a gym and it was too cold outside. I started lifting weights. I made Hannah’s protein pancakes (give her a follow, she’s the best). I started these goals for a contest to win supplements from an amazing company, and ended up doing it for myself. I didn’t hit my goals. But I changed myself for the better. I found the confidence to start this blog. I bought new jeans. I wore a shirt without a jacket or cardigan to cover up my arms. That’s a win in my book.

I’ve started diets and programs before. Some have worked, temporarily. To be honest, I’m not sure why this one clicked, but it did. Even though the contest ends in less than a week, I’m going to keep improving myself, keep growing, and writing.

I’m getting a root canal tomorrow, and I couldn’t be happier.

IMG_20160224_125608

 

Leave a Reply

