The “Write” Tools

I planned tasks out to the extreme up until my early twenties. I would draw up complicated plans, schedules, and lists that never functioned the way I designed them to. Don’t misunderstand me, a good plan or list is invaluable, but, to paraphrase Robert Burns, “The best laid schemes of Mice and Men/oft go awry.” I still plan tasks to the best of my ability, but now I leave plenty of wiggle room. Except when it comes to writing.

 

Writing is one task that will never be accomplished if I do not plan it carefully. Here is a list of tools that help keep me inspired and on track.

1) Books.

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. A memoir style book packed with gems of advice.

Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeown. This book, while not on writing, helps to focus on priorities and teaches you how to say “yes” to things that are genuinely essential.

The Essential Guide to Getting Your Book Published: How to Write It, Sell It, and Market It . . . Successfully by Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry. If I only had one book on writing, it would be this one. It’s full of great tips from experts who have been where you are!

2) Websites/Groups.

Aerogramme Writers’ Studio on Facebook. They post insightful articles and humorous memes.

TED Talks. Do you need inspiration? Look no further than this website full of talks given by some of the greatest minds in the world in almost every category you can imagine.

Podcasts: NPR is also an excellent source for inspiration.

3) Apps.

Expresso is a tool I learned of today. Copy and paste your work into this app and it will analyze your weak points.

StoryCorps is a website with a downloadable app that you can use to record interviews. They have questions you can ask, interview lengths (the app with automatically stop after 45 minutes), and you can upload the interview to their archive.

Was this list useful? What tools do you use to help you write?

Leave a Reply

